Argentina Name Squad For All Blacks

Argentina head coach Daniel Hourcade has named his match day squad for Sunday’s opening Rugby World Cup clash against New Zealand at Wembley.  Agustin Creevy will again captain Los Pumas while there are seven players making a maiden World Cup appearance, namely Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Guido Pagadizábal Petti, Thomas Lavanini Paul Matera, Thomas Cubelli and Joaquin Cordero Santiago Tuculet.
It will be the third time that the Argentines play against the Kiwis at a World Cup and the first outside New Zealand.  The first was at RWC 1987 and the second in 2011.  Both were defeats for the South Americans: 46-15 (in the pool stages) and 33-10 (in the quarter-finals), respectively.  Interestingly on both occasions, the All Blacks were the champions on those occasions.
History is against Hourcade’s men as Argentina has only been able to win one of its Rugby World Cup opening matches.  That occurred in France in 2007 when the hosts were beaten 17-12 in the opening match.  On Sunday, against New Zealand, Los Pumas will seek to achieve only a second victory in this regard, but also a first time win against the All Blacks.
Argentina’s match day squad versus New Zealand:
  1.  Marcos Ayerza
  2.  Agustín Creevy (c)
  3.  Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
  4.  Guido Petti Pagadizabal
  5.  Tomás Lavanini
  6.  Pablo Matera
  7.  Juan Martin Fernández Lobbe
  8.  Leonardo Senatore
  9.  Tomás Cubelli 
  10.  Nicolás Sánchez
  11.  Juan Imhoff
  12.  Juan Martín Hernández
  13.  Marcelo Bosch
  14.  Santiago Cordero
  15.  Joaquín Tuculet
16.   Julián Montoya
17.   Lucas Noguera
18.   Ramiro Herrera
19.   Mariano Galarza
20.   Juan Manuel Leguizamón
21.   Martín Landajo
22.   Jerónimo De la Fuente
23.   Lucas González Amorosino