Amajimbos Draw Against North Korea

South Africa and North Korea played to a 1-1 draw on Thursday in their second match of the FIFA World Cup Under-17 at Estadio Municipal Ester Roa, in Concepcion, Chile.  The South Africans began the match on a high as they went into the match with confidence.  They attacked from the first minute and were awarded a penalty 10 minutes into the match when Ri Kuk Hyon brought Mkatshana down in the box and was given a red card for that.

Mukumela stepped up and gave Amajimbos the lead.  The South African lead did not last very long as Korea DPR won a penalty five minutes later, after a clumsy challenge from Mohamme forced referee Aranovskiy to point to the spot.  Kim Wi Song stepped up and equalised for the Asians.

The rest of the first half saw many missed chances and half chances created by both sides, however the back line of South Africa was in sixes and sevens due to the pace of Korea.  The second half started with the North Koreans having the advantage as they took more shots at goal.  But they failed to take the lead in the match after numerous opportunities were missed by Han and Choe.

Coach Molefi Ntseki made a tactical change in the 76th minute when Wiseman Meyiwa came on for Kobamelo Kodisang, as South Africa needed some stability at the back.  Notha Ngcobo came on for Simon Nqoi in the 83rd minute, but still no goals came from this.  The match ended on a high as the crowd cheered on Mpoto who moved from his goals to play infield alongside his teammates as they searched for a late winner.

However that goal did not come. South Africa and North Korea have one point each in group E, but still sit bottom of the log standings in that order.  South Africa will face Russia in last group E match on Sunday, 25 October 2015, at Estadio Municipal Ester Roa in Concepcion, Chile at 19:00.

South Africa: Mondli Mpoto; Reeve Frosler; Thendo Mukumela; Katlego Mohamme, Simon Nqoi; Athenkosi Dlala; Nelson Maluleke(c); Sibongakonke Mbatha; Kobamelo Kodisang; Khanyisa Mayo; Luvuyo Mkatshana

Subs: Sanele Tshabalala; Walter Kubheka; Riyaaz Ismail; Wiseman Meyiwa; Tebogo Qinisile; Dylan Stoffels; Sphephelo Sithole;Vuyo Mantjie

Korea DPR: Ri Chol Song; Ri Kuk Hyon; Kim Wi Song; Kim Ye Bom; Pak Yong Gwan; Yon Jun Hyok; Han Kwang Song; Choe Song Hyok; Jong Chang Bom; Choe Jin Nam; Jang Song II (c)

Subs: Kim Ho Gyong; Kang Song Jin; Kim Ji Song; Jong Se Myong; Kim Yong Saeng; O Chung Guk; Ryu Hyok; Jo Wi Song