AB De Villiers Leads Full Strength Proteas World Cup Squad

AB De Villiers will lead a full strength South Africa squad to Australia and New Zealand in February to challenge for the 2015 edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup.  “Quinton De Kock is the only injury concern at the moment.  Our medical committee has backed his inclusion in the squad at this stage so there is confidence that he will be ready for the tournament.  There are eight players with previous World Cup experience – De Villiers, Hashim Amla, Faf Du Plessis, JP Duminy, Wayne Parnell, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn and Imran Tahir – so we feel we have a nice blend of experience of major knock-out tournaments plus the freshness that will come from the relative newcomers.  We have also stayed true to our policy of consistency and reward for good performances that has enabled us to build up a good record over the past 12 months.  The fact that most of these series have been played away from home has provided excellent preparation as well.  The selectors have also identified a group of standby players in the event of injury replacements being needed but these will not be named at this stage,” commented Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection committee convener, Andrew Hudson.

Proteas World Cup squad:

AB De Villiers (The Unlimited Titans, capt)
Hashim Amla (Nashua Cape Cobras, vice-capt)
Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins)
Farhaan Behardien (Titans)
Quinton De Kock (bizhub Highveld Lions)
JP Duminy (Cape Cobras)
Faf Du Plessis (Titans)
Imran Tahir (Dolphins)
David Miller (Dolphins)
Morne Morkel (Titans)
Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors)
Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions)
Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras)
Rilee Rossouw (Knights)
Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras)

Morne Van Wyk (Dolphins) will deputize for De Kock for the ODI Series against the West Indies.