Sharks Ready For Lions

Sharks Director of Rugby Gary Gold has selected his match day squad for Saturday’s Super Rugby visit of the Lions.  Gold has selected captain Tendai Mtawarira, Franco Marais and Coenie Oosthuizen in the front row.  Etienne Oosthuizen and Stephan Lewies will scrum down behind the front row.

Daniel Du Preez, Jean-Luc Du Preez and Marcell Coetzee will form the looe trio.  Gold says:  ‘This is going to be an incredibly tough fixture, made even tougher by the fact that the Lions are in our pool.  The outcome of this game is going to be significant to the status of this pool at a later stage.  They are a fantastic team and we have a huge amount of respect for them.  We know how good they are with ball in hand and the questions they ask on defence.  Our focus is on our own game and after a break last week, our players returned to training in high spirits with renewed energy and focus.  We want to play with more ball in hand and ask questions of our own.  The set-piece battle is going to be important and it will lay the foundation for us to launch our attacks off.  It is important for us to perform well before we go on tour, which will set the tone for a tough, yet exciting, three week assignment in New Zealand.’  Gold has opted for Cobus Reinach and Joe PIetersen at halfback.

Andre Esterhuizen and Paul Jordaan form the midfield partnership with Lwazi Mvovo, JP Pietersen and Willie Le Roux at the back.  Odwa Ndungane needs just two more tries to equal the Sharks all-time Super Rugby try scoring record, held by Stefan Terblanche, and will be itching to come off the bench.  

The Sharks match day squad is as follows:

15. Willie Le Roux
14. JP Pietersen
13. Paul Jordaan
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Joe Pietersen
9. Cobus Reinach
8. Daniel Du Preez
7. Jean-Luc Du Preez
6. Marcell Coetzee
5. Stephan Lewies
4. Etienne Oosthuizen
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
2. Franco Marais
1. Tendai Mtawarira (C)
16. Kyle Cooper
17. Juan Schoeman
18. Lourens Adriaanse
19. Hyron Andrews
20. Keegan Daniel
21. Michael Claassens
22. Garth April
23. Odwa Ndungane

Photo credit: Nick Lourens